Book Review: Divergent Triology

If you read (and liked) the Hunger Games triology, you should go get the Divergent triology asap. The movie based on the first book, Divergent, comes out in theaters today and I cannot wait to go see it soon.

Book 1: Divergent

divergent

I started reading this based on a recommendation. I kept saying, “yeah, yeah, I’ll get to it.” When I sprained my ankle and was reading like a fiend, I thought, “Why not now?” I finished it in 2 days. No joke. It’s very similar to the Hunger Games but it’s not quite as dark. However, in Book 1, I could tell it was leading toward something darker. Basically, the world takes place in a destroyed Chicago and society is divided into 5 factions. Each faction has a particular virtue: honesty, selflessness, brave, peaceful, and intelligent. At age 16, one chooses if they would like to stay within the faction that they were raised in or go into another faction. The main character, Tris, chooses her destiny…sort of. It’s a very thought provoking book to think about society split out like it is. It demonstrates that even if we’re in some forced group, we still depend on others to help us survive. It’s also fun to think about what landmarks in Chicago they’re describing if they’re not specifically named and to think about how strange some of our large cities would look if they were destroyed. After reading this book I though I might put off Book 2 but I picked it up because it was quickly loaned to me.

Book 2, Insurgent

insurgent

So, I read this book in 3 days. Clearly, it’s terrible. Ha. This book gets more into the the fall out of what happens in Book 1. I think it focuses on what people think about when figuring out where they fit in society and what they think of society as they know it. It really is a coming of age book for Tris, even more so than Book 1. There’s a love story, there’s overcoming grief, learning how to forgive, learning one’s identity, and discovering the world is run by politics and power. After I finished this book I immediately wanted Book 3. While I almost downloaded it on my Kindle, I knew if I simply waited 24 hours I could borrow Book 3. But I kid you not that once I got my hands on Book 3 I was reading it within 10 minutes and didn’t put it down for the first few short chapters.

Book 3, Allegiant

allegiant

 

On to Book 3. I have to say, this book was easier to put down. Quickly into the book it gets to the “point” of the world you’ve been in for the previous 2 books. It was an interesting concept but not one I really could get behind. However, if I allow myself to indulge in sci-fi, I could maybe see it happening in the world but not quite what I expected. But with that said, I still read this book in about a week and I enjoyed it for what it was.

So again I say, if you enjoyed The Hunger Games, read this series. Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

