Book Reviews from October-December 2013

As I mentioned last week, I’ve been doing a bit of reading so I thought I’d catch up on some of the books I’ve read. I’ve read quite a few so let’s just cover what I read in October through December 2013.

Garden of Stones by Sophie Littlefield

garden

 

This was an interesting book to read. It focused on Japanese women living in California who dealt with the fallout of the Japanese population after Pearl Harbor. It also contained a murder mystery element. Overall, it was engaging and interesting. While it was fictional, it definitely seemed to have elements of truth of the history at that time. If you’re looking for something a little different, I would recommend you read this book…but it is a little heavier at times.

Shadows of Lancaster County  by Mindy Starns Clark

shadows

This was a murder mystery as well. It’s based in Amish country but not all the characters are Amish. But this book completely wrapped me up and had me thinking about how difficult modern world problems have to be so difficult for a population that doesn’t embrace the modern world. This is a very different book than I tend to read but was lent to me by a friend. I’m so glad it was recommended to me because I loved it! If you’ve ever been to Amish country or know anything about their culture, this book is something you should read.

Christmas Bliss by Mary Kay Andrews

christmas

 

I love Mary Kay Andrews. Her books are always a lot of pages but they read like summer reads to me. I eat them up. This book didn’t disappoint and actually included characters from another favorite book, Savannah Breeze. I didn’t want to put this book down and wanted to read and read and read. If you’ve ever read Mary Kay Andrews, go pick up this book. If you haven’t read Mary Kay Andrews, go read some of her books, just read Savannah Breeze before reading this one. 

Monkey Business by Sarah Mlynowski

monkey

It’s been quite some time since I’ve read any books by Mlynowski but from what I remember this book fits her style. This was an interesting book in terms of the characters and what they were each going through. It follows a group of students in business school and how they’re really a band of misfits, even the “normal” one. I wanted to read this book in one day but at the same time I wanted to pace myself so it wasn’t over so quickly. While it was different, it kept me entertained in a very good way. 

 

Leave a Reply

