Roasted Southwest Veggies

It’s finally Friday! I don’t know about y’all but this has been a LONG week. I started my half marathon training and I’ve done 9 miles thus far. On Sunday I’ll run 4…ok, I’ll run/walk 4. So let’s keep our fingers crossed that the weather stays warm(er) and dry so I can run outside. Running in the gym is for the birds. But enough about that, let’s get to what you should make this weekend or next week for a fast after work dinner.

Roasted Southwest Veggies (with Butternut Squash)

5 cups fresh butternut squash, cubed
2 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 onion
1/2 red pepper
1/2 green pepper
1/2 tsp Paprika
1/2 tsp Chili Powder
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
1/4 tsp Cumin
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Combine butternut squash, peppers, and onions in a large bowl. Add olive oil and toss/stir to coat veggies. Mix seasonings in a small bowl and add to the veggie mixture. Toss/stir to coat evenly. Pour veggies in one even layer onto a greased baking sheet. Bake 30-35 minutes until squash is fork tender.

Now…the good part? You can eat those just as they are. Add a little guacamole and sour cream for extra deliciousness. But I took the veggies one step further. I put a couple of spoonfuls and some shredded cheese onto a tortilla, rolled them into burritos and baked them in the oven for 5 minutes so the cheese would melt. I’ll be honest, at first bite, I didn’t love it but the more I ate, the more I liked it. Even my meat loving fella liked them. While they may not be a weekly appearance in our kitchen, I do think they’ll show up from time to time when we’re wanting something a little different and really easy.

Enjoy the weekend!

Leave a Reply

