Pull-Up Machine Ain’t No Joke

Happy Wednesday, y’all! It’s really my Friday since I’m taking off the rest of the week to go celebrate my dear friend’s wedding day on Friday. I’m ready for a break. I feel bad in some ways because I’m so ready for vacation. So many people are unable to work right now due to the government shutdown but at the same time, it’s been a while since my last bit of time off and the last time I took off, I jumped right back in to work once I was back. So I feel bad but I don’t at the same time.

Last night I had training. Since I’m training tonight as well, my trainer had last night mainly be upper body and tonight will mainly be lower body. My body almost gave out last night. Last night was my premiere on the pull-up machine. I’ve been working my way up to it and I’m still not able to do it without her help but seriously? My biceps and upper body are starting to scream this morning. You feel it and it’s odd because someone was helping me but you don’t realize how much you’re actually working until you’re off the machine. But squeezing my biceps and body to pull myself up is no joke. My biceps feel like weaklings next to other parts of my upper body so maybe that’s something I should be working on a little more now. Hm. Maybe my fella will help me out since I’m weak and can’t do the load I need to be doing on my own. So after a couple of rounds of 2 different upper body circuits, it was time for my core circuit. That was 20 plank rockers on the stability ball followed by 20 hand to feet stability ball passes, two times through. My core fell out on the second set of hand to feet passes. I finished it (with her help again!) and then made the loudest grunt. She laughed at me and said she hadn’t heard that noise from me in a long time. I don’t know what the deal was. Usually I’m good with the core. But it may be that my body was so tired from the workout already?

Interested in my upper body circuits?

Shoulder combo warm-up: Light weights (I think about 7 or 8 pounds each hand) – hands by your side, palms face forward and raise up over head then back down and rotate wrists so palms face down as you lift arms in front of you to shoulder height

3 times through:
– 15 pull-up machine reps
– bent over rows (15 each side) – I started with 15lb dumbell and on the 2nd and 3rd set went with 17.5lbs
– barbell front raises (20lbs)

3 times through:
– tricep overhead pulls (rope on the tower)
– high plank hold on the bench with shoulder taps

Leave a Reply

