Smoothies Anyone?

So, I’m a smoothie girl through and through. Usually once the cooler weather hits I tend to put the blender away to collect dust. But lately I haven’t been able to get enough of them. My trainer gave me the idea of using green tea as the liquid which is genius because it’s better than just plain ol’ water but it doesn’t have the added calories of milk or yogurt. So…I’ve been doing my experimenting with green tea. I brew up a kcup worth of green tea either before going to the gym or before I go to bed and let it chill while working out or sleeping. Then it’s nice and cool when it’s smoothie blending time!

Green Tea Apple Cucumber Smoothie

6-8 oz. chilled green tea
1/2 – 1 c baby spinach
1 scoop Jay Robb vanilla protein powder (any protein powder will do but I love this brand)
1 small gala apple, peeled and sliced
1 baby cucumber or 1/2 small cucumber, peeled and sliced
4-6 ice cubes (optional)

I love that smoothie up above. I will warn you that if you don’t have protein powder, you should add some honey or Stevia as it can be kind of bland otherwise. It’s very refreshing and very low calorie. Your calories will come from the protein powder and the apple. It’s only about 180 calories and 17 carbs so it’s a perfect snack but with 27 grams of protein (if you use the protein powder) it’s a great workout recovery snack.

Another smoothie I accidentally discovered when I realized my cucumbers were slimey is a take on a favorite snack, apples and peanut butter.

Apple Peanut Butter Smoothie

6-8 oz. chilled green tea
1/2 – 1 c baby spinach
1 scoop Jay Robb vanilla protein powder
1 small gala apple, peeled and sliced
1 Tbsp Pb2 powdered peanut butter
4-6 ice cubes (optional)

It’s a little odd if you don’t like green tea but that is the key to keeping this low calorie. How 196 calories, 18 carbs, and 30 grams of protein catch your eye? You could make it with almond milk for sure but it’ll up your calories and there are a lot of health benefits to green tea. The other key to low calories? The powdered peanut butter. Seriously, y’all, why has it taken me so long to get on board? This stuff is magical in smoothies. I get just as much if not more peanut butter flavor than regular peanut butter but I get 1/4 the calories and carbs. We’re talking 23 calories for 1 Tsbp as opposed to almost 100 calories of almost any other peanut butter option for 1 Tsbp. The powdered stuff comes in chocolate flavored, too, which is great in peanut butter banana smoothies.

I recommend you go try these smoothies. Play around with green tea and different fruits and let me know what you find works best.

 

Leave a Reply

