August Book Reviews

I did quite a bit of reading in August. I finished a lot of books I’d started in June or July. I finished 3 books: 11/22/63 by Stephen King, Below Stairs: The Classic Kitchen Maid’s Memoir That Inspired “Upstairs, Downstairs” and “Downton Abbey” by Margaret Powell, The Year of Fog by Michelle Richmond.

First up:

112263

11/22/63. This book was daunting. It was about 800 pages. But truthfully? It was an easy read and it was a fast read. I just had to find the time to sit down and read it. If I had large chunks of time I got through a lot but it was also easy to pick up and read a few pages here and there if time permitted. I had it as a hard back on loan from a friend. I highly recommend the read…but please get it on an e-reader if you can! You’ll get through it easier. 🙂 Honestly, though, this book made me think. It’s about being able to go back and change the past. Not only is it a compelling story but it makes you think about all the bad stuff that history holds and what if we could change moments that were so terrible. Were they necessary to be where we are today? Or would today be better if those events hadn’t happened?

Next up:

below stairs

I read Below Stairs at a recommendation by a friend. She said it got her through her Downton Abbey withdrawls. It was a very fast read (only about 200 pages) told in memoir style. If you’re curious about life as a servant, this is a great easy read. I think it just made my desire for Downton Abbey to come back even stronger though.

Lastly:

year of fog

K’s mom lent me The Year of Fog. It was a super fast read. I wanted to just read and read and read. It’s a bit sad but it’s very compelling. You get sucked into the story like you’re part of the search for Emma.

I have other books on my list for September so hopefully I’ll be back at the end of September with updates on these:

Confessions of a Serial Dater by Michelle Cunnah
Ladies’ Night Out by Mary Kay Andrews

Leave a Reply

