Weekend Recap

I had a fantastic holiday weekend! Thursday, July 4, I started my day with a super sweaty cardio and training session.

Proof

Proof

I started with 6 minutes on the Stairmill followed by 20 on the treadmill. I did some speed intervals on the treadmill. By the time I got to my trainer, I’d already burned 731 calories! For realz. Fortunately, she took pity on me and didn’t make me do squats. We’re doing the 30-Day squat challenge and that day was supposed to be a rest day. So since she knew I’d been killing it with the squats for 3 days and I had an intense warm-up, she mostly worked my core and arms. Sure, my lower body was worked but it wasn’t the main focus. Ya know?

After my workout, it was time to relax! My guy came over and we hung out with the roomie most of the day. I roasted up chicken sausages, peppers, and onions for “dogs.” We had mini bell peppers stuffed with string cheese as a side. There was also a lot of chips/guac and wine involved that day.

Friday I was back to work but took off a little early for some bonus time with my guy. Followed by drinks (prickly pear maragaritas!) with some friends. Saturday was a perfect day with my guy. It started with breakfast and a little shopping. That evening we had dinner and sat by the water for a while before seeing World War Z. If you’re into zombies at all….go see that movie! It was great! It’s nothing like the book so if you’ve read it, don’t expect it to be. You’ll really enjoy the action and suspense of this movie!

Sunday I hit the gym for a stairmill and treadmill workout followed by cleaning and then laziness.

So how did I feel about my health and fitness over the holiday weekend? So-so. I felt pretty good about working out since I got in a serious new groove with the cardio sessions. It was the first time I’ve really worked on the stairmill after my trainer got me on it. It’s a serious calorie burner and sweat inducer. I enjoyed food over the 4 days. I ate what I wanted for the most part and I enjoyed ice cream and other sweet treats. While I don’t regret it, it is the reason I’m back on a strict/serious discipline plan today. I don’t believe in depriving yourself when you’re trying to lose weight, but I do believe it takes discipline and decision making. I didn’t do either of those very well over the 4 days. My weight shows it. So back to working on it! More on that in another post.

Leave a Reply

