A little hiatus does a body good

Well, long time no blog. I took a break. I thought I would take a break indefinitely. But I realized this blog does help me stay accountable. Somewhat anyway. But I’d lost track of what this blog was about. I’d fallen prey to only doing link-ups or motivational quotes. It didn’t really tell my story anymore. I mean, I guess it did to an extent, but not the real me. It was the me I wanted other people to see. Not the me I’m actually living.

So who am I right now? I’m happy but I have my moments of real struggle. I’m extremely happy in so many parts of my life so let’s start with those.

  • I have a great guy. One who is supportive of me no matter where I am. One who tells me I’m beautiful every day and he means it. And I believe him (even on the days I don’t really feel it).
  • I have great friends. My friends have had to be family since I don’t live near my own family. They support me. They cheer me on. They sit down on the curb next to me when I don’t want to keep moving forward in my journey but then they help me back up when it’s time to move.
  • I have a wonderful family. I’m fortunate enough to have a family that doesn’t fight. Sure, we annoy each other and have our moments but I’ve never really fought with anyone in my family. While they don’t live near me, they’re always just a phone call away.

So what’s missing? My health and fitness of course! Don’t get me wrong. I’m pretty healthy all things considered. I’m pretty darn fit, particularly for someone at my weight. I have a deep commitment to working out. I wish I could say that transferred over to how well I eat. It doesn’t. I battle it. Daily. You know this if you’ve followed me for a while. But I take it one day at a time. Sometimes I fall off for weeks. But I always pick myself back up. And when I look back where I fell off, I’m always surprised to see it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was. Sure, it wasn’t good but it sure could have been better. To me that says I have a better hold on my discipline than I give myself credit for. I need to embrace that discipline. Because knowing I have it and can do it, helps me keep doing it. It takes a lot of work but I can do it. I just have to go through that miserable stage of starting. But this time I’m not looking at it like a miserable stage because this time I’m remembering all the other wonderful parts of my life. Not only do those parts support me, but they’re worth being healthier for. I want to be around my guy, my family, and friends for a long time.

So here I go again. I’m getting back to what this blog is meant to do. Follow the journey of improving my health and how I see myself while I balance out my love for baking (and eating food in general). I’m not going to say I won’t do link-ups or motivational quotes/words from time to time but I’m not keeping them as a “must have” because that weighed me down (no pun intended) and stressed me out. And this is my blog that I don’t get paid for so it certainly shouldn’t be adding to my stress. So no set numbers of post per week and no set post themes. I’m posting about what I need/feel like posting as the moment strikes.

2 responses

  1. Welcome back! Glad you’re coming back to real blogging. I won’t lie, I was disappointed each time a “new” post came up for you and it was just another linking in thing. Even if you don’t post as often, real posts about you and your life are better than frequent posts like that. Like you said, this is your blog, and it should be about your journey, in whatever form you want to express it, however often. 🙂

    1. Thank you! Yeah, the other posts started out as fun little diversions but then they turned into the only thing I did and it felt forced. So back to looking at them like fun little diversions when needed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

