New Goals

I’ve been pretty frustrated with seeing changes in my body but not much of a change on the scale. I haven’t gained, which is good, and there are times when I manage to lose a pound here and there. But I’m hovering around the same number. Yet…I see changes in my body. I see and feel the difference in my strength and my endurance. So for May I’m going to work on not caring about the number on the scale. I stepped on the scale this morning and I don’t plan to step on again until June 1. I need to work past some mental blocks I’ve been struggling with lately. Not caring about my weight needs to happen. It’s kind of a weird thing because it’s the number every doctor cares about. Yet, it’s not good for me to focus on it because it sends me into a spiral of despair when it doesn’t move. That impacts how I workout and how I eat. Sometimes it’s for good and sometimes it backfires and I “give up.”

I took a break from strict tracking of food intake where I was tracking my calories in and out every now and then and then I took 5 days off completely. But Tuesday I started up with strict tracking again. I worked out hard with my trainer last night, I got in some intense cardio, and I ate clean all day. So May I’m working on breaking bad habits and I know for me it starts with my mental well-being. It’s time to break through that…and for good. This summer I’m working on that piece of me and instead of caring what weight I am, I’m going to work on making sure my body looks the way I want it to. I know it’ll take time but there’s no reason I can’t start seeing the progress on a daily basis.

breath

One response

  1. You can do this! I like your new attitude, the scale does not and should not define us!

Leave a Reply

