Fitness Friday: Fitbit Style

This week I earned two new badges with Fitbit so I thought it was worth talking about the Fitbit badge system.

Fitbit awards you badges based on various activities and your weight loss. You can earn badges for daily steps (every 5,000), total climbed in a day (10, 25, 50, 75, etc.), lifetime climb, and lifetime distance. Then you get badges for weight loss for every 5 pounds down. You also get a lifetime weight badge. According to Fitbit the lifetime weight badge “shows the greatest amount of weight you have lost or gained. It is measured from your current weight to all time highest or lowest weight (depending on your goal). You will only see one lifetime badge at any given time.”

This week I got two new badges. I got a new lifetime weight badge (down 35 pounds) and a new lifetime climb badge (my 747 badge or 4,000 floors).

My Activity Badges

My Activity Badges (Click for larger)

I have to say I think the lifetime climb badges are my most motivating and my favorite badges to earn. I think it’s because it’s exciting to know I’ve climbed that many flights of stairs or hills and because there are such cute badge themes! I won’t get my next badge for lifetime climb until 8,000 floors. I have a long way to go! It took me something like 14 months to earn my first 4,000. I need to do more stairs, yeah?

My Weight Badges

My Weight Badges (Click for larger)

I like getting the weight loss badges. The first few weren’t that exciting but now that I’ve lost 35 pounds since the end of February 2012, it’s getting really motivating and exciting.

I think it’s great sites like this award badges and silly things like this. It’s not much, but it’s nice to see how far I’ve come and what I’ve accomplished. I don’t appreciate the sites that give you awards for everything, it makes the really big rewards seem lesser than they really are. Don’t get me wrong, I think they’re great for people who are starting out and really need encouragement that they’ve worked out 5 days in a row but for me, where I’m further along, it makes my accomplishments feel less important. I don’t know, I’m probably just odd.

What simple motivators work for you?

Leave a Reply

