Italian Chicken

Yesterday was a “snow” day in my area. They called for a huge dumping of snow but we saw nothing. But because they were calling for the worst as the day went on, I stayed at home. I have to say, it kind of worked out in my favor that I was home and that it amounted to nothing. The problem with being home and working, though, is that I get snacky. I felt like I was hungry every 2 hours. At noon I decided to throw some chicken in the crockpot for dinner. After looking in my spice cabinet intending to make a southwest chicken, I saw diced tomatoes and tomato sauce. So Italian Chicken was born.

Crock-Pot Italian Chicken

3-4 lbs bonless, skinless chicken breasts or tenderloins (can be frozen)
1 can diced tomatoes, undrained
1 small can tomato sauce
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp dried thyme
3/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/4 c water

Place chicken breasts in the crock-pot. Cover chicken with tomatoes and sauce. Sprinkle seasonings over the top then add water. Cook 6-8 hours on low. About 30 minutes before serving, shred the chicken in the crockpot to let it soak up some of the juice.

I served my shredded chicken on a sandwich thin and made sandwiches. But tonight I’ll probably eat just the chicken. I think it would be a great salad topper or addition to a baked pasta dish.

Leave a Reply

