Tools and Apps

If you’re like me, you have tried a lot of different tools and apps to keep yourself motivated to move and eat right. I thought I’d share what I’ve tried and what I think about some of the tools/apps I’m currently using.

Fitbit

Although mine is pink inside

Y’all know I love the Fitbit. It’s probably my favorite tool at the moment. I’ve had it since the beginning of 2012 and I use it daily. It really keeps me in check with getting steps and stairs in my day. I use the website to track my progress. For a while I was tracking my food here but since I joined Weight Watchers, I haven’t tracked there. But overall, I’d say it’s a great food tracker. I enjoyed it more than I have other online food tracking sites I’ve tried in the past. This is a great tool if you’re inspired and motivated by seeing your progress. You can see more of my thoughts on the Fitbit here, here, and here.

Weight Watchers Mobile Apps and Online Tracking

The mobile app

I joined Weight Watchers online at the beginning of September. It’s taking some getting used to in terms of tracking and eating right, but I like it. It really appeals to me though because I use the Mobile apps–to track my food/exercise and to scan the barcodes to get the point values without using the calculator or looking them up.

Slimkicker.com

Slimkicker is a new online site I’ve started using. I haven’t used it to track food since I don’t want to track more than one place but I’ve used it to track my exercise and I’m exploring the challenges I can join. Basically, you set up your own healthy challenges and when you reach certain goals, it reminds you to reward yourself. My current reward I’m working towards is purchasing a song download. Small but really rewarding.

This is a snapshot of part of my dashboard:

The challenge I’m currently participating in is “No snacking after dinner.” This is really difficult for me, particularly when I work out late. I tend to eat a small meal when I get home from a late workout but then I always want something small after that about a hour later. Well, that means I’m eating something at almost 9:30 or 10pm and that is not an ideal situation. From what I’ve seen so far the challenges are easier to participate in than what I’ve found on Weight Watchers or other eating/fitness tracking sites.

Others I’ve tried but I’m not currently using:

I’ve tried Spark People. I never really got the hang of this site. It was interactive to some degree but I didn’t like the tracker capability. And after a while I got bored and it stopped motivating me. I have also used Livestrong (or the Daily Plate as it was called when I first started using it) in the past and I really liked this site. I stopped using it mainly because I found other sites that I invested in (Fitbit, Weight Watchers) and it seemed too duplicative. However, I kept my account because I like to go there sometimes to analyze recipes for nutritional value.

2 responses

  1. I adore my fitbit!! I’d recommend it to anyone wanting to get healthier.

    However, I am not a fan of the food tracker on it. I currently use caloriecount.com, and it’s data base is waaay bigger, and it’s easier to find things/put in different amounts of food. So, I usually log all day on cc, then put my total calories in at fitbit at the end of the day, because I’m OCD and need to., haha

    I’ll have to check out slim kicker. It sounds interesting.

    1. Putting the calories at the end of the day on Fitbit is a great idea! I can’t believe that never occurred to me. See, this is why we blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

