I’m baaaack!

Well, hello! And if you’re still out there…thank goodness!

I took quite a haitus (August 6, anyone?) and to be honest, I didn’t think I was coming back to the blogging world. Let me explain a little bit of what has been going on in my world.

I did a lot of traveling for work this summer and my blog posts were starting to wane because I was starting to wane a little in my feeling fit. Then a few days after my last post, my grandfather passed away…somewhat unexpectedly. I went home to my family for a week and then came back to do a lot more travel for work. Not long after my last work trip, my mom and aunt came up to visit and that brings me to this week. I’ve done a lot of soul searching over the last few months and I’ve been slowly chipping away at the last bit of doubt in my head that I can be who I want to be in terms of health and fitness and baking. You may recall that this blog is about balancing health/fitness and baking, right? 🙂

Well, in September I joined Weight Watchers and I’ve lost a little bit of weight since I joined but it’s mainly been weight that I had gained back from weight that I’d originally lost. See, as of June I’d lost 22 pounds since February and then I gained back 3 pounds. Not bad but I wasn’t continuing to lose either. I’m not at 22.5 pounds lost again. Woohoo! But what was working so well for me this spring was being accountable and finding purpose in what I was doing. I lost track along the way because life got in the way.

Well, I’ve figured out my goals to get me to the end of the year and I feel re-energized and re-committed. While I’m starting this week on some things, next week is the true reset button. I hate to be one of those people who says, “It starts next week” but I’m leaving Friday morning for TN to go see the nieces and nephews and well, I can be healthy down there but I can’t do some of the things I normally would. What am I planning on doing?

  • Planning my lunches/dinners for the week. I definitely need to plan my lunches for the work week. More often than not I end up eating out or eating something that isn’t all together unhealthy but it isn’t very nutritious. Since I’ll be out a little later in the evening a few nights a week due to working out, I need to plan wholesome meals to eat when I get home so I don’t eat random things for 30 minutes.
  • Twice a week get up early to do yoga or pilates. I did these a lot in college and grad school and I miss them. I think they’ll help with my hip and back pain I’ve been experiencing as of late.
  • I’m joining a new gym (but not leaving Curves) so I can continue taking the fitness classes I bought a Groupon for that are soon to run out. I’ve really enjoyed Zumba, Kickboxing, and particularly Barre Fusion. I want to keep them up 2-3 times a week.
  • Overall push my workouts to be better, stronger, and just outside of my comfort zone.

I also plan on getting back on this blog! Even if no one listened, it helped me. So over the next couple of weeks I plan to get the workout page updated and start sharing some of my Boot/Bootie Camps (I’ve kept those up) that haven’t been shared and just get back on track in general.

So I hope you’re still out there and remember:

2 responses

  1. I also took a long break from blogging but, like you, I realised it was good for me… so I am recommitting too 🙂 All the best!

    1. Thank you! Same to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

