What I Love Wednesday: Fitness Classes

A couple of weeks ago I purchased a Groupon for 20 drop-in fitness classes for $25 at a local gym. If you’re not aware…that is a fantastic deal. Fantastic. I did my research beforehand and they offer a lot of classes I’m interested in and the classes are typically at 6 or 7 in the evening, so I can actually go to them.

I went to my first class on Monday night. I went to my second class on Tuesday night. I’m kind of hooked.

Monday night Linda and I went to Zumba. It was my first time at an hour long legit Zumba class. Before I’d only been to Zumba through Curves. I love Zumba. I really enjoyed the instructor; she was high energy without being annoying. I didn’t feel ridiculous even though sometimes I felt like I had 2 left feet. By the end of the class I was dripping with sweat and I was certainly fatigued. My arms and legs last night felt not quite sore, but just fatigued. I also love the music played during Zumba classes. It’s always upbeat and it really makes you want to move and forget any cares you may have had that day.

Tuesday night I went to a Barre Fusion class. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. This is the description from the website:

“Combines ballet inspired movements, interval training, Pilates, and isometric moves to strengthen and stretch your muscles from head to toe. The result is firm, elongated muscles, a strong re-defined core, increased flexibility and alignment, and reduced body fat.”

This class was definitely tougher than any class I’ve taken in a long time. It was broken into intervals. After a warm-up (a lot of squatting), we focused on upper body using our own body weight and light dumbbells (I used 3 pound weights). Then we moved on to the lower body and that was tough. I’m a pretty fit gal and I love squats and lunges and leg lifts, but I had to make more than one or two pauses because my muscles were burning. Then we moved on to core. This was actually very similar to my core workouts I do in boot camp but there were some more advanced variations on some of the moves. I definitely plan to use these in Boot Camp and in my normal ab routine. As tough as it was, I really loved this class. The instructor was fantastic. I also really liked that if I continue to take this class, I’ll be able to see improvements in my strength and endurance.

Bottom line? I’m definitely going back for more Zumba and Barre Fusion. I hope to get to kickboxing soon!

What are you loving this Wednesday?

One response

  1. […] night I led June’s Boot Camp. I was able to pull some of the ab work from my Barre Fusion class on Tuesday […]

Leave a Reply

