Monday Meals: Chicken Salad

Good Monday morning, y’all! I hope you all had nice weekends and are ready to get the week started! Even if you’re only ready to start the week to get to the next weekend. I have to say I’m kind of glad to float through the week since the last 2 have been so busy, this one will seem like a cake walk.

If you’ve got some leftover chicken from the weekend or have some chicken hanging around in your fridge/freezer that you’re not sure what to do with…why not turn it into chicken salad? I will sometimes buy a rotisserie chicken and pull the meat off that for chicken salad. Sometimes I use leftover chicken from a meal for chicken salad, and sometimes I just cook chicken with the soul purpose of making it into chicken salad. That’s what I did last week. Last Sunday I grilled off some chicken tenders with just salt and pepper. Once they were cool, I cubed them up. You can cut your chicken however makes you happy but I find the cubes work best for how I make my chicken salad because everything in it is about the same size. I usually just throw stuff together when it comes to my chicken salads, but last week I made a point to measure so I’m basing the recipe below off that. I’ll also add that this recipe fed my roommate and I for lunch every day last week.

Chicken Salad

8-10 boneless, skinless chicken tenders, cooked and cubed
2 c red seedless grapes, halved
1 c celery, diced
1/2 c green onions, diced
1 to 1 1/2 c mayonnaise with olive oil (the olive oil gives it a richer taste but you can use whatever you have on hand)
salt and pepper to taste

After cubing the chicken, halving the grapes, and dicing the celery and green onions, toss them all in a bowl and mix thoroughly. Stir in mayonnaise until all ingredients are coated. I would suggest adding the mayonnaise little by little so you get the right “wetness.” You can always add more, but you can’t take it out. Add salt and pepper as needed.

The green onions will add a nice bite and tang to the salad while the grapes add a nice burst of sweetness. I know some people don’t like grapes in their chicken salad but I highly recommend you try it if you haven’t before. You may surprise yourself.

What kind of things do you like in your chicken salad? I also like pecans in my chicken salad but if I’m planning to eat it mostly with crackers, I will keep those out. I usually just add those on top if I’m eating the chicken salad on a bed of greens.

Leave a Reply

