Monday Meals: Tomato, Basil, and Goat Cheese Bruschetta

This recipe I’m about to share is probably one of my favorite things to snack on. I don’t make it often because it results in my going through way too much of a french baguette. I first came across something like this back in San Francisco when we went to Cafe Tiramisu. I fell in love with the concept of adding goat cheese to your standard bruschetta. So after messing around with the perfect combination, I’ve got something I love.

Tomato, Basil, and Goat Cheese Bruschetta

1 loaf french bageutte
4-6 ripe tomatoes, diced (I cheat a lot of times and get the pre-diced from the produce section)
1/2 cup basil, sliced into thin strips
1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 Tbsp minced garlic
1 log of goat cheese

Mix diced tomatoes, basil, balsamic vinegar, garlic, salt and pepper in a large bowl. Let this sit in the fridge for at least 1 hour before preparing the rest.

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Slice your baguette into 1-2 inch slices on the diagonal and place on a baking pan. Drizzle or brush slices with olive oil and bake for about 10 minutes.

Spread a little bit of goat cheese on each slice of bread while still warm and spoon a tablespoon or so of the tomato mixture on top. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

