How much is 2 tablespoons of peanut butter?

I don’t know about y’all, but I love me some peanut butter. I can eat it by the spoonful but I try not to do that often because it gets out of control. I also love a peanut butter and jelly or peanut butter and honey sandwich. When I’m making these sandwiches, I never measure out how much peanut butter I use. I just assume what I’m using is roughly 2 Tbsp (the suggested serving size). Well, this morning I went to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich and in an effort to really know what calories I’m taking in, I decided to measure out 2 Tbsp. I ended up with a lot of peanut butter on this sandwich. In reality, I think I eat closer to 1 Tbsp of peanut butter on my sandwich, maybe 1 1/2 Tbsp but certainly not 2 Tbsp. I was shocked (and delighted). Now, obviously, I could’ve stopped at just 1 Tbsp but decided that today I would welcome the big messy 2 Tbsp peanut butter sandwich.

It just makes me think about all of the other things I’m inaccurate on in my mind measuring. I’m sure most of the time I way underestimate how much of something I’m eating but there have to be instances where I overestimate. I mean, I thought I was eating 2 Tbsp of peanut butter and in reality I was eating half of that in most cases. I know if I’m going to track my food and calories, I should be better about measuring things out. And maybe, just maybe, I’ll surprise myself again and get more food!

Do you measure your food out? Is it annoying or does it just become part of your routine?

One response

  1. I never used to measure, but I recently acquired a food scale. It has really opened my eyes to the true serving size of a lot of stuff! It definitely was annoying at first, but I’ve been at it for a few months. Now I feel weird if I don’t weigh something.

Leave a Reply

