Tuesday Thoughts

Since I missed my Monday Meal post I thought I’d give you some of my Tuesday Thoughts. You’ll love it. Or not. For those who don’t, I’ll give you periodic cute animal pictures to make up for it.

Over the last 6 years, my likes and opinions have changed a lot. Six years ago I was wrapping up grad school knowing I’d just landed my first post-grad job that I hoped would become a career. Well, it has since I’m still at the same company 6 years later. I like my job most of the time but I’ve developed and/or strengthened other interests in the last 6 years.

My love for cute puppies has only gotten stronger

 

I started working out at Curves 3 and a half years ago. I’d been slowly increasing my desire to workout up to that point but when I joined Curves, it clicked. I’ve had a regular workout routine for 3 and a half years. That’shuge. Then in January 2011 I began working at Curves and my desire to learn more about fitness started to grow. In September 2011 I began leading the Boot/Bootie Camp at Curves and my desire to learn more about fitness exploded. I spend a lot of time each week reading up on fitness research, checking out new workouts and moves, and just exercise in general.

I'm discovering myself

 

As I’ve been overweight most of my life, I’ve dieted/watched what I ate off and on for years. Years ago I started making choices to eat the lower fat, lower calorie options of foods I love. But in the past year, while my eating hasn’t been anything to brag about or role model worthy, I’ve really tried to understand what a balanced meal and balanced day in meals looks like. I can’t say I’ve incorporated it into my daily life but that’s a long hard battle I need to deal with (and it’s a post for a different day). I’ve tried to understand what foods are really ok and I’ve tried to understand what “diet” foods really are never ok. I’ve tried to understand what foods help your fitness and general health. Then I got a Fitbit and the past couple of months I’ve really been thinking about nutrition, health, and fitness. Honestly? I feel a change coming in my life. I’m not sure what form it will take yet but for the first time ever I feel ready to really commit to something related to my health. A big something commitment. I have ideas rolling around in my head but like I said, I’m not sure what’s going to come out just yet.

Ready to pounce

 

Does any of this resonate with anyone else? Has anyone else made a big health commitment like a new workout routine or a new nutrition plan that you’re still committed to?

3 responses

  1. This definitely resonates with me. Three years ago, I weighed 240 pounds. I knew I had to do something because I was so unhappy with myself… not to mention scared. Diabetes and heart disease run rampant in my family.

    So, I started walking and using the wii fit to workout. I lost some. I joined Curves, lost some more. I started counting calories on caloriecount.com (1600/day) and lost a ton.

    A year later, I was down to 160, with only 20lbs to go until my first goal. My curves closed, I got a job, and I gained 25lbs back.

    The beginning of this year, I had that click again. I knew I had to do something. So, I started counting calories again and using my kinect/wii to work out at home.

    It wasn’t enough/I was bored… so I just joined a big, scary gym and started the couch to 5K program. I have hormonal imbalances, so losing weight is hard for me unless I take BC pills. So, I haven’t lost a whole lot of weight, but I’m focusing more on the health and fitness side of things this time around. I’ve found I’m a lot happier that way 😀

    Congrats to you and all your success!! Hopefully this change coming on is something amazing!

    I like to ramble, yes. Sorry.

    1. Wow! Congrats on losing the weight. I’ve heard a lot about the couch to 5K program. What do you think of it?

      1. Thanks!

        I love it. I actually tried it before, and had a hip injury. So, I had to stop. That was two years ago. Just make sure you do proper warm ups and stretches, and you’ll be fine! It’s amazing how fast your body adapts to stuff like that!

Leave a Reply

