Fitness Friday: New Upper Body Workout

I’ve been trying to incorporate an upper body workout 2-3 times a week. I updated My Workouts Page to include some of my new favorite upper body workouts. But I’ve also been working with my roommate on the upper body and I’ve developed my own upper body workout I can do. It’s easy to do while watching tv. This particular workout is tailored to focus on my biceps and triceps given that tank top season is coming in soon and those 2 muscle groups are the ones I really want to tone.

I use 2-5 pounds weights depending on what muscle I’m working. If you’re just starting out, start with a lower weight until you know what you can handle.

TV-Watching Upper Body Workout

Do one time through (or 2-3 times if you’re looking for a good circuit workout).
Bicep curl (8 singles on each arm then 8 doubles)
Tricep overhead extensions (1 set of 12)
Squat and curl set: Before each set of curls hold a deep squat with your arms in position of the upcoming curl – bicep curl, overhead tricep extension, wrist curls, front shoulder raises, lateral shoulder raises, shoulder shrugs, overhead press. With a lower weight (2-3 lbs. do 20 reps per curl, higher weights do 10-12 reps).
Tricep overhead extensions (1 set of 12)
Bicep curl (8 singles on each arm then 8 doubles)

Be sure to stretch your muscles out after you’ve worked them!

Leave a Reply

