Trying a New Recipe and Hakuna Matata

After a crazy and busy week, I desperately needed a low key weekend. On Saturday morning I went to breakfast with my roommate before coming home and spending the afternoon on the couch catching up on DVR and watching Christmas movies: Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Christmas Vacation, and How the Grinch Stole Christmas.

Then I went to bed super early (8am, anyone?) and slept until 7am. I needed to catch up on some much needed sleep. This morning was a lazy morning leading up to The Lion King! Yes, the musical. It was phenomenal. The costumes were amazing, the actors were amazing, the music was, of course, amazing. I loved every minute of it. I definitely sang along during “Hakuna Matata.” I don’t know how a person couldn’t sing along to that song..I mean, “it means no worries for the rest of your days..!”

Once home I decided to make a dish I’d been saving the recipe for on Pinterest for some time. It was a recipe for Skinny Zucchini Ziti and it was terrific! It’s a slow cooker recipe but it only takes 2 hours to cook up and you don’t have to pre-cook the pasta, which is definitely a plus. I definitely recommend it. It’s great as a main dish but it could easily be a side dish to a chicken breast or mixed with turkey meatballs.

I also made up some peanut butter fudge while waiting to enjoy after dinner. I don’t know about y’all but I always need something sweet after a carb heavy meal, particularly Italian and Mexican dishes. I think it’s the sauces.

Peanut Butter Fudge

1 jar of creamy peanut butter
1 bag semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 can sweetened condensed milk

Combine peanut butter and chocolate chips in a large microwaveable bowl. Microwave for 1 minute. Stir and microwave until completely melted, stirring every 15-30 seconds.

Stir in sweetened condensed milk until well blended. Pour into tinfoil lined baking dish. Chill for 1 hour before cutting into small squares.

 

Leave a Reply

