Peanut Butter Balls

You know those foods that with just one bite you’re transported back to your youth? Well, last night I made one of those. I made my grandmother’s peanut butter balls. I remember her making them every Christmas and every summer for our beach trip.

I’ve started my baking for holiday boxes I give out. This year, these babies are part of them. I dare you to try them and not want to eat them all on the spot…and that’s before you get the chocolate on them!

Peanut Butter Balls

1 stick butter
2 c creamy peanut butter
16 oz. powdered sugar*
3 c puffed rice cereal
1 bag chocolate chips

Melt butter and peanut butter in sauce pan. Combine powdered sugar and cereal in a large bowl. Pour melted peanut butter into cereal mixture. Mix together with hands (be careful it will be warm!). Roll into 1 inch balls and place on baking sheet. Chill in the refrigerator until firm, about 30 minutes.

Melt chocolate and dip balls into chocolate to coat completely. Set out on waxed paper to set.

* My grandmother’s recipe called for 1 box of powdered sugar. I love how older recipes from good cooks are written out!

Bet you can't eat just one!

2 responses

  1. These sound and look awesome, they would make lovely presents.

    1. They do make fantastic gifts! Just make a few extra for yourself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

