Sunday Morning Doughnuts

A while back I mentioned I was experimenting with my new doughnut pan. I’m finally ready to share my first successful recipe.

So I present you with Pumpkin Spice Doughnuts.

Piped into the pan

Perfectly baked!

Sprinkled!

Pumpkin Spice Doughnuts

For doughnuts
2 c all-purpose flour
3/4 c sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp salt
3/4 c nonfat milk
2 eggs, beaten
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 Tbsp shortening

For glaze
1/2 c powdered sugar
1-3 Tbsp nonfat milk
1 tsp vanilla bourbon extract
sprinkles

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. In a large bowl, mix flour, sugar, baking powder, pumpkin pie spice, and salt. Stir in milk, eggs, vanilla, and shortening. Beat together until well blended. Fill each doughnut cup approximately 3/4 full. (I used a plastic bag as a piping bag for ease.) Bake 8-12 minutes, until doughnuts spring back when touched. Allow to cool slightly before removing from pan.

To make glaze, blend powdered sugar, water, and vanilla in a small bowl. Dip doughnuts in the glaze when serving. Top with sprinkles.

Yields 8-10 doughnuts.

Don't mind if I do!

Remember that giant bag of fall sprinkles? Well, I did give some away but I’m also almost out of them. I’ve probably used 10-12 ounces of a 16 ounce bag already.

What are you having for Sunday morning breakfast?

Leave a Reply

