Busy bee

I have been a busy bee the past few days. I worked at Curves Friday night as usual but I also worked there Saturday morning and I’m working tonight. I’m leaving for Chicago on Wednesday night and won’t be back until Saturday morning so I had to switch days with someone this week. I don’t mind it but working this many times in 4 days is a little taxing. Especially when Friday afternoon this baby arrived:

My new best friend

All I wanted to do on Friday afternoon was try it out but I had to wait until Saturday afternoon. It’s maiden voyage? Coconut Almond Poundcake…recipe to come. I then proceeded to use the mixer 2 more times on Sunday. I’m experimenting with cake flavors for some birthdays later this month. I almost perfected one yesterday but I want to try one more tweak before I share it. But you can believe that now that I have my new favorite kitchen appliance, lots of fun recipes are coming.

Back to my mixer. It came with the 5 quart glass bowl, whisk, 2 beaters, and a dough hook. Plus it’s such a pretty shade of orange. That picture doesn’t do it justice because I took it with a crappy Blackberry camera phone. But once I upload the pictures from my camera, I’ll post a better one. It definitely pops on those black counter tops. Plus, I had no idea it would be so much quieter than my hand mixer. I knew it would be awesome to be able to walk away from it while it mixed but the fact that it’s quieter?! BONUS. It’s actually put me in the holiday mood. It makes me want to start baking for the holidays, which means I should definitely get started on maing my holiday cards this weekend.

 
How was your weekend? What did you do?
Leave a Reply

