What motivates you?

http://twitter.com/#!/southernsherri/status/132037169652047872

That’s how my morning started. Last night I was setting my alarm and tying to figure out, do I get up early to workout or do I chance working out after work? I’m really good at working out after work if I have to go somewhere other than my house to do it. But I’m not so good at it if I’m working out to a DVD at home. I do much better getting a morning workout in then. But I I also hate getting up early. But when I checked Twitter, I saw Cait getting up at 5am for her workout and I thought, I can certainly do a 5:30am wake up for a workout. Even when my alarm went off I wasn’t loving the idea of working out. But I know my tendency to wave off workouts later in the day so I allowed myself 4 minutes to lay there before rolling out of bed. Now I’m done for the day and I don’t regret it.

I was thinking about the many different things I call upon for motivation. Some are:

Knowing my workout style. I know I tend to wave off workouts after work if I’m not going to Curves or meeting someone for a walk. I get home and I just want to change in to comfy clothes and call it a day. So as much as it pains me, I need to get up early if I want it.
Exercise mantras. I recite mantras to myself. Some are things I make up, some are what I see on Pinterest, some are what I hear from others. No matter the source, finding some that work for me are key. Some of my favorites are:

Other things that help motivate me? Twitter, healthy living blogs, and most importantly a strong support group. My friends and family have to support me. It’s not just enough for me to have them say, “It’s great you worked out.” I need some of them to ask me if I worked out, to ask me what my workout was, and to just listen when I want to talk about my awesome or poor workout. I also look at my nieces and nephews and say to myself, “If for nothing else, I should do this for them.” I love those kids and I want to be healthy and awesome and powerful for them not only to teach them but to be there down the road.

What motivates you to workout and be healthy?

Leave a Reply

