Covered in frosting

Last night I began baking the last of the 7 dozen cupcakes, but I was baking 4 dozen. So by the time I was done, I decided to sit on the couch and catch up DVR instead of icing them last night. But…

http://twitter.com/#!/southernsherri/status/125048487594311680

I still had an odd urge to bake a coconut cake. I didn’t because I didn’t have the ingredients and what would I do with a whole coconut cake? But I think I could have a problem…

Anyway, this morning I got up and at ’em to ice 4 dozen cupcakes before I have to go lead Bootie Camp. Half of my cupcakes were Cookies ‘n’ Cream and the other half were plain ‘ol vanilla with fall colored sprinkles stirred in. So for the Cookies ‘n’ Cream Cupcakes I made my vanilla buttercream and topped them with a mini oreo.

Practically perfect in every way

For the vanilla cupcakes I made chocolate buttercream. Actually, it was the best chocolate buttecream ever.

I have some icing left over and I kind of want to eat it all…with just a spoon. But I won’t, I did enough tasting earlier…especially for 8:30am.

Vanilla Buttercream

  • 5 c powdered sugar
  • 2 sticks butter, room temperature
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 6-8 Tbsp heavy cream
Combine powdered sugar, butter, and vanilla in a large bowl. Beat on medium, gradually adding the cream until you have your desired consistency. You can add more cream to thin it out but if you add too much, just add more powdered sugar.
This recipe will make enough to frost 24 cupcakes and you’ll have some leftover. You can freeze this frosting as well.
You can use cream or milk but I’ve found the more fat in your milk or cream, the creamier and it tastes.

Dark Chocolate Buttercream

  • 5 c powdered sugar
  • 10 tablespoons dark chocolate cocoa powder
  • 2 sticks butter, room temperature
  • 10 Tbsp heavy cream
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
In a medium bowl, sift together the powdered sugar and cocoa, and set aside. In a large bowl, cream butter until smooth, then gradually beat in sugar mixture alternately with cream. Blend in vanilla. Beat until light and fluffy, this will take longer than vanilla buttercream.
This recipe will also frost 24 cupcakes with plenty leftover.
Enjoy!
3 responses

  1. Excellent recipe today thanks for sharing. I really enjoyed reading today’s post.

    Check out this healthy recipe – Cheese Topped Vegetables

  2. They all look really, REALLY, beautiful! Very well done.

Leave a Reply

