Kitchen Cabinet Cookies

Well, yesterday it rained all day and I woke up around 5am to some roaring wind. Once I was awake, I got up, opened my blinds a little and laid back down to watch the swaying treetops while checking Twitter. I mean, what else do you do at 5am? Once I woke up again around 8am I went out to survey the street (from my balcony with my coffee). First, it felt amazing outside! Nice strong breeze and cool weather. Second, it seems like all we got in my neighborhood was a bunch of leaves, rain, and some small limbs down. Now the sun is out and it still feels fantastic out there! However, when we went out to explore…we found a lot of places are closed or on limited generator power. So I’m home and it’s Sunday:

http://twitter.com/#!/southernsherri/status/107909901208133633

I baked cookies. Kitchen Cabinet Cookies. Ok, so they’re just a slight variation on the Nestle chocolate chip cookies, but kitchen cabinet cookies sound better. I named them as such because I just opened up my baking cabinet and grabbed the open bags of morsels I had. Everything went in and then I added sprinkles for good measure.

C is for cookie, that's good enough for me

Kitchen Cabinet Cookies (or Jazzed Up Nestle Tollhouse Cookies)

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 c mini chocolate chips
  • 1/2 c regular chocolate chips
  • 1/2 c white chocolate chips
  • a good overflowing handful of sprinkles

Preheat oven to 375° F.

Combine flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in morsels and sprinkles. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets. Bake for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

My favorite kitchen utensil

Ok, y’all tell me I’m not nuts. That picture up there is of my favorite cookie mover spatula. Now, some may say that’s not a good spatula because it’s metal but it’s my favorite because it never fails me. I always pick up perfect cookies, no matter how warm, without ruining them. It’s also the perfect size and can get around tight rows of cookies without messing up other cookies. So, please tell me I’m not nuts and that y’all have favorite utensils, too.
What is your favorite cookie? I love a chocolate chip cookie and this may be my new favorite. The sprinkles make them fun and the mix of different size morsels and different chocolates make it fun and flavorful!
Do you have a favorite kitchen utensil?
What did you do this weekend?
4 responses

  1. I’ve made something similar to this before — except my cookies had a lot of crazy stuff inside. I’d definitely say they are COMPLETELY kitchen cabinet style! I added pretzel pieces, graham cracker chunks, every kind of chip you could imagine (chocolate, white chocolate, peanut butter, butterscotch, M&M) raisins, peanuts, coconut and even crumbled bacon! It was actually quite good!

    These cookies look really yummy, and I was actually looking for something new and different. I love the colors from the sprinkles. I’ve actually never done that before!

    -Alexandra

    1. I’ve been wanting to bake something with bacon for a while now. I was thinking cupcakes but bacon in cookies could be even better! Hmm…thanks for the idea!

  2. They looks really great! I should do something like this, use whatever I can find sort of jobby. Cheers.

  3. These look very yummy!! I wish I baked this weekend.

Leave a Reply

