Zucchini Chips Recipe

Remember that not so good for me treat yesterday? Well, true to my word, I went to the gym. I had a tough workout followed by some planks. I held a 90 second plank, rested, then held a 60 second plank. I hurt and was fatigued at the end but I held it 30 seconds longer than I had before. Plus I know my form is so much better. Gotta keep the butt low! Once I got home I went out for a 30 minute walk through the neighborhood paths. It was a nice walk with some hills thrown in for a little extra sweating.

Once I was home and showered, roomie and I got to work in the kitchen making zucchini chips.

Eat ’em up!

They’re so delicious and really easy. But they were taking a while to cook so I warmed up a frozen meal of baked ziti to tide me over. When I was done with the pasta I could use the sauce to dip the zucchini chips in. Bonus!

 

Zucchini Chips

2 medium zucchini, sliced into 1/8″-1/4″ rounds
1 egg
1 c plain breadcrumbs
1/2 c grated Parmesan cheese
1 Tbsp Italian Herb Salt and Pepper seasoning (or you can make your own mix)
 
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Place wire rack on a baking sheet. (I cover my baking sheet in tinfoil for easy cleanup.) Coat the wire rack in olive oil spray. You’ll probably need two sheets set up like this.
 
Whisk the egg in a small bowl. In a separate bowl mix breadcrumbs, cheese, and seasoning. Dip the zucchini slices in the egg until well coated then dip in the breadcrumb mixture until well coated. Place zucchini on wire rack.
 
Bake 20 minutes. You can flip them halfway through cooking if you’d like. I’d recommend this if your slices are a little thicker.
Serve with your favorite marinara sauce. I really like it with a roasted garlic marinara.
Leave a Reply

