New Music

On the way to the gym yesterday (more on that further down) I heard this beautiful song:

I’ll admit, it made me tear up but it’s such a beautiful song that I came home and downloaded Christina Perri’s album. I was in a download mood last night and ended up downloading two other albums I’ve had on my list for a while. If you haven’t listened to Grace Potter & The Nocturnals yet, you should. I also downloaded Rachel Platten‘s album. One of my friend’s introduced me to her through YouTube a while back.

The Gym and Your Friends
I’m much better about working out in the afternoons but sometimes it’s hard to get to the gym in the afternoons. So when I left work yesterday I texted a friend I knew was going to the gym and said I wasn’t motivated. She told me that seeing her could be my motivation. So then I felt guilty and went..I mean you can’t really tell your friend they’re not motivation enough because for one it’s rude and for two, it’s totally not the case. Knowing someone is looking for you to be at the gym and workout alongside them…even if you don’t talk…is motivation. And if you do talk, your workout goes so much faster!

Planking
No, not the trend of planking. Real planking.

Source

I’ve been working on holding my planks and if you ever check out my Workout Log page then you may have noticed I’ve increased my endurance on them. I worked up to holding them for 30 seconds to 60 seconds. Now I can hold one for 90 seconds to 2 minutes depending on how fatigued my body is. Typically I do them after my Curves circuit workouts. Two minutes seems to be my wall though. I’ve held them for 90 seconds and then 30 seconds and last night I held 2 60 seconds sets. I’m trying to work my way up to 3-4 minutes but I’m not there yet. I have full confidence I can do it though with practice. I remember when I first started doing them I could hardly pull myself up.

What new music are you listening to?

Do you have a fitness goal? What is it?


Leave a Reply

