When you’re feeling broken-hearted

I’m feeling blue and trying my best to mend a broken heart recently. Today I’ve been down in the dumps for sure. When I got home I crawled in to bed and thought about how all I wanted was comfort food or you know, bad for me food. I shook out of it and tried to bring myself up and out of the funk. I ended up going to Target and wandering around looking at beauty products and the baking aisle. I don’t know about y’all but when I go on a baking aisle and smell the marshmallows and flour, my mood instantly lifts. I also love looking at beauty products…particularly if they’re on clearance.

My point of this post though, is that instead of dragging my roommate out to eat and eating a bunch of crap I don’t need and wouldn’t make me feel better, I just went for a little retail therapy. Ok, and I stopped at Chick-fil-A when I left Target but that was way better than what I would’ve ordered at say Red Robin or On the Border.

And when that doesn’t work, I look at puppies:

What do you do to fight of the blues and broken hearts?

3 responses

  1. gosh! it’s tough out there sometimes…..
    we need all the friends we can get!
    I like to listen to empowering music.
    One of my favorites is an old Van Morrison, “Common One”
    and “Into the Music”.
    I also have a new one, Amina Alaoui called “Arco Iris”
    Adele’s cd “19” makes me feel good.
    and Carmen Cuesta has a new bossa nova cd “Mi Bossa Nova”
    sung in spanish I think and very spunky.
    I also have a stash of movies I pull out.
    I love Shakespeare in Love, A Fish Named Wanda
    Up and Away, Juno, Persuasion, Babette’s Feast
    Chocolate, Field of Dreams, Elizabeth R (the first movie)
    I still love Thelma and Louise and if you can find this movie
    called Bad Girls – it is a hilarious spoof on the old western…
    all the cowboys are girls, Madeline Stowe, Drew Barrymore,
    Mary Masterson, Andie McDowell, they ride the range and
    stop the bad guys…..the movie was panned but I think those
    boy critics just didn’t get it.
    I hope you see it and get back to me about it.
    Of course…..I bake and eat too. And I make ice cream
    alot lately.
    you keep strong. You have it all inside.

    1. Thank you for so many great ideas. You’ve opened my world to new music and movies–some I’ve never heard of and some I have but haven’t listened to/watched.

      Adele’s music gets me through a lot. I really like her 19 and her 21 cds.

      I do remember Bad Girls. I don’t think I ever saw the whole movie though. I’ll have to go looking.

      Making ice cream sounds like a good plan, too. Ice cream while I watch movies. 🙂

  2. Hang in there…Iron Bridge Wine flight here we come!

Leave a Reply

