Napa – Day 4

On the fourth day of the trip, we went to Napa for a day trip. I was a lucky gal and got to drive over the Golden Gate Bridge but boy was it foggy.

I am pretty stoked I can say I drove over the bridge. Interestingly, to go over to Marin Co. the bridge is free but it’s apparently $6 per axle to come back across. One of our guides told us that was because Marin Co had more money to spend. I don’t know if I’m glad it was foggy because it seemed so fitting or if it had been clearer. Of course, I’d probably be bitter if it was clearer because as the driver I couldn’t have taken in the scenery very much.

We bought tickets for the Wine Train.

The train takes you on a 3 hour ride up and back through the vineyards. Our tickets included a 3 course lunch and a glass of wine. For my meal I selected the broccoli soup (which was amazing) and dipped hot fresh sourdough bread into it. The main course was an amazing mozarella burger–it had 3 thick slices of mozzarella on top. For desert I opted for a small creme brulee. The meal was delicious but it was definitely heavy for a mid-day meal. I had a small cupcake later but didn’t eat anything else the rest of the day.

The wine train is a fantastic way to see the vineyards without having to drive and the bonus is that you can drink your way up and back. We were definitely among the youngest on the train though. But we just told ourselves we’re fortunate enough to be able to drink wine at lunch for 3 hours on a Monday before we’re also a member of AARP. Ha!

The trail

A highway wall in Napa

Little grapes on a little vine in the parking lot

After we were sufficiently full of wine and rich food we needed to walk off our fun. So we walked around downtown Napa and window shopped in the boutiques. Well, mostly window shopped. It was here that I got a great idea for holding my bangle bracelets–use an old wine bottle! Once I get my act together (and drink a bottle of wine) I’ll post a picture of it. I think it’s genius and it’s very fitting for me. I adored Napa. I’m already thinking about how I’d like to go back for more than a day. Who wants to go celebrate my 31st birthday in Napa? 😉

After wine, shopping, and a mini cupcake from Kara’s Cupcakes it was time to head to San Jose and officially end our vacation. 😦

I hope you enjoyed my recap of San Francisco and Napa. If you ever have a chance to go (and you haven’t been already) jump on that chance. Then come tell me all about it!

Leave a Reply

