Baking Again: White Blondies

At long last I baked in my new kitchen! I’ve been wanting to make some kind of bar and decided I had a hankering for blondies. But I wanted to kick them up a notch. So I made White Blondies.

Blondies are really easy to make and are sisters to brownies. Instead of using cocoa you use brown sugar to get the flavoring. A lot of recipes suggest adding nuts or chocolate chips. I like the idea of chocolate chips but I wanted to stay true to no chocolate. So I went with white chocolate. Two benefits to white chocolate? 1) It’s not really chocolate, so it’s staying true to no chocolate and 2) it’s much richer than chocolate in my opinion.

I can’t find my camera’s cord to upload a nice picture to my computer so here’s a camera phone picture of the finished product:

Your baked goods don't come of the oven like that?

Ok, so I needed a taste to have enough energy to take a picture. Here’s the recipe. Go bake them. They’re easy, quick, don’t require a mixer, and chances are..if you bake even a little, you have these ingredients in your pantry.

White Blondies

  • 1/2 cup of butter, melted
  • 1 cup of tightly packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon of baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup of white chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Lightly butter and flour an 8X8 pan. Whisk together the melted butter and sugar in a bowl. Add the egg and vanilla extract and whisk. Add the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt, mix it all together. Add the white chocolate chips and mix together. Pour into the pan and spread evenly. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool. Cut into squares and serve.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

