Book Review: Bossypants

I just finished reading Tina Fey’s Bossypants. It’s kind of a random collection of her stories about how she’s made it to the top. She tells some stories about her personal life in raising her child but many of the stories center around her rise in comedy and how to be a female boss. There’s no doubt that it was a funny book. But since it was kind of a random collection of stories, it was very easy to pick up and put down. I’ll be honest, if I wasn’t borrowing the book from a friend and if I hadn’t been doing a lot of airplane reading lately, I wouldn’t have finished it so quickly. That’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy reading it. I really did. I find Fey funny and sassy. There was a relatively lengthy chapter of her account on playing Sarah Palin in SNL and I found that chapter really interesting. Fey opens up about some of her insecurities and I found that refreshing and sort of encouraging. She had to have had balls to make it where she is but this book reminded me that even those who are at the top have their own insecurities to deal with on their way up.

Leave a Reply

