Welcome to a Fresh Start

Snickerdoodle Cupcake

Welcome to a Snickerdoodle State of Mind–my place to focus on my two passions: baking and fitness. What? Those two things don’t go hand in hand in your mind? Well, you’re nuts because they do. To enjoy baking (and tasting) you should balance it out with a fitness routine.

History of My Baking
I’ve always had a passion for baking, particularly baking cupcakes. My favorite and most complimented cupcake is my Snickerdoodle Cupcake. It’s essentially just a cinnamon vanilla cake topped with cinnamon buttercream icing. The one pictured above was my first “perfect” fancy cupcake. Instead of just spreading the icing on with a knife/spatula or piping with little effort I actually planned out the cupcake ahead of time so I had the perfect swirl and then I topped it with a cinnamon sugar pecan. So after thinking of a million different blog names that play off baking and fitness I brainstormed with my best friend who simply asked me, “What’s your favorite cupcake?” I replied, “Snickerdoodle” and that’s how Snickerdoodle State of Mind was born.

For years I’ve baked cookies, brownies, cakes, cupcakes, quick breads, and made candy. But in the last few years I’ve really focused in on cupcakes. Maybe that’s attributed to the trendiness of cupcakes right now but also because they’re not only fun to bake and play with, but they’re a lot more fun and easy to eat than a cake. Now just because I’ve focused on baking doesn’t mean I don’t bake other items because I do. I get cravings for a warm brownie or a warm cookie often.

How My Passion for Fitness Grew
For the last 10 years I’ve worked out in some capacity. In college I took advantage of the free exercise classes, with my favorite being kickboxing, and I worked out to a Pilates video regularly with my roommates, not to mention all the walking one does going to class when in college. In grad school I used the school gym and used various workout DVDs. Over the last 5 years I’ve used a variation of the gym, DVDs, and walking.

Two and a half years ago I joined Curves when my other gym membership ran out. It’s the best thing I could’ve done. I’ve reached over 300 workouts at Curves in that time and my entire lower body has been transformed. I’m still working on other trouble areas but I’m stronger, more toned than ever before, and I’m happier. Six months ago I started working at Curves part-time because I enjoy it so much. A few months ago we started offering Curves Circuit with Zumba Fitness. I never knew how much I would enjoy that class and look forward to it every week. I also like to participate in our Bootie and Boot Camps offered through our club.

Leave a Reply

