Book Review: February Reads

March 17, 2014 at 8:00 am | Posted in books | 1 Comment
Tags:

I read a lot in February. I’m going to show 3 books here but I actually read 4. My plan for the 4th book is to review an entire triology at once.

So let’s start with Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman.

orange

I simply liked this book mainly because it was something different and I felt like it told a really true story and didn’t come across as a story written by a ghostwriter. While the topic is serious, it’s a light read. It also, if accurate, shows how women can embrace each other even if they’ve done something to land themselves in federal prison. It shows the true heartache of a woman separated from her family and one who truly regrets what she did to get into prison. It shows how one can befriend others but keep a low profile and just “do the time.” It also shows how while in some instances we think inmates are catered to, it’s a really inconsistent system in terms of how one is treated across facilities and even within. However, with all of this said…I’m not sure I really want to watch the series. People I know have raved about it but I kind of feel like now that I’ve read it, I think the series will ruin it for me. You know?

Next up is The Bride Wore Size 12 by Meg Cabot.

bride

I adore this series by Cabot. I read them all so quickly so I was very excited to see the latest in the Heather Wells series was out. While I really liked it, I didn’t love it as I did some of the others. This plot seemed a little more crazy than some of the others. It seemed like it was stretching a bit more, however, it seems somewhat possible if you think about pressures students are under…I suppose. There was also just a LOT going on in this book in terms of side plots. But I love love love the romance between Heather and her hunky PI, Cooper. I may have teared up a little at the end. And by may, I mean I did. I think this may the last book in the series and while I’m sad to see it go, I think it’s time. But it did seem like Cabot could take one side plot and spin it into another series featuring Heather, which would thrill me to no end because I love her character and little band of friends and family.

Finally, Twisted Sisters by Jen Lancaster.

twisted

 

I mentioned this book a few weeks ago. I liked it more once I finished it. But I still just gave it 2 out of 5 stars. It seemed like it was way too similar to¬†Here I Go Again. The main character basically worked for Oprah. No, it wasn’t referenced but it might as well have been. This book seemed like it had some holes in the story and it pulled entirely too much from her other books for my taste. If more of her fiction works are like this, I’m going to be screaming for her to go back to more of her own life story telling because that’s essentially what her fiction works are. I know they say, “Write what you know” but this book took it to an extreme and it wasn’t extremely good.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I agree, Twisted Sisters was sort of Meh. :-/


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

