Finally Friday

February 28, 2014 at 8:31 am | Posted in books, injury | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , ,

It’s finally Friday. It’s seemed like a very long week, yet a short one all at the same time. I was stuck inside most of Sunday and didn’t emerge into the outside world again until Thursday morning. All due to a sprained ankle. I was getting a little stir crazy, even though I knew it was cold outside but we’ve had some sunny skies, despite a little snow. So yesterday, K drove me to work before he went to work, which meant I was in the office by 6:15a. Yeah. I didn’t leave work until about 4:30 since I had a meeting I really wanted to do in person. Fortunately, there was iced Dunkin coffee for me and a dinner date at Chick-fil-A. But that meant we weren’t home until almost 6:30p. Long day for someone who hasn’t been out of the house in days. I “quickly” showered and then propped myself up on the couch with the fella to watch Capitals hockey. I made it through the first 2 periods before I just had to lie down. My foot/ankle was throbbing and I just couldn’t get the right angle to prop it up. So I went to lie down and read Jen Lancaster’s Twisted Sisters. (It’s only $2.99 on Kindle for the next week or so. Go buy it!)

I love Jen Lancaster’s books and Twisted Sisters is the only one I haven’t read. I didn’t realize it at the time of purchase but a character in this book connects to one in Here I Go Again. So…I will say, if you didn’t care for that book, you probably won’t like Twisted Sisters. But this is a good fluffy read. I’ve been reading a lot of books lately so I know I’m due for a review of them. I don’t think I’ve reviewed anything I’ve read since September! So I’ll get on that. To preview what I’ve read since the new year:

- As Seen on TV by Sarah Mlyknowski
- Orange Is the New Black by Piper Kerman
- The Bride Wore Size 12 by Meg Cabot
- Divergent by Veronica Roth

So I’ve been delving into different genres but they’ve all been good. I should finish Twisted Sisters this weekend and I’ll likely start up Insurgent this weekend as someone is loaning the hard copy to me and well, it’s not like I can go do a whole lot…like run the 5K I had planned for tomorrow. Bummer. But I’m going to cheer on friends who are doing it in the cold without me tomorrow…and by cheer on I mean from my couch with my foot propped up. I’m not feeling crazy enough to go in person. ;)

I hope you all have happy Fridays and happy weekends!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I bought Twisted Sisters yesterday as well at the Kindle sale price. Started it, seems like a nice, light read. :-)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

